David James Brock


David James Brock is a playwright, poet, and librettist whose plays and operas have been performed in cities across Canada, the US, and the UK. He is the winner of the 2011 Herman Voaden Canadian National Playwriting Award for his play Wet. Brock is the author of two poetry collections, Everyone is CO2 & Ten-Headed Alien both released by Wolsak & Wynn. Most recently, his play-opera hybrid A Million Billion Pieces premiered as part of Young People’s Theatre 2019/2020 season, for which he was nominated for a Dora Award (Best New Play – Theatre for Young Audiences division).

He has created text for opera and new music with companies that include Noise Opera, Tapestry Opera, Young People’s Theatre, the Canadian Art Song Project, Write off The Keyboard, FAWN Chamber Creative, and the Paul Dresher Ensemble. For Scottish Opera, Brock co-created Breath Cycle with Gareth Williams, a multimedia operatic song cycle developed with cystic fibrosis patients, which was nominated for a 2014 Royal Philharmonic Society Award. He is currently co-writing Perceval, an opera for the screen with Canadian hardcore legends Mike Haliechuk and Jonah Falco. www.davidjamesbrock.com